volunteers watering plants

Countries connected by the European Solidarity Corps


European Solidarity Corps is open to a number of countries across Europe and beyond, depending on the activity.

These countries are divided into two groups: Participating Countries and Partner Countries.

Participating Countries

The following countries, including the Overseas Countries and Territories of EU Member State countries, can fully take part in all Solidarity Corps actions:

Belgium Greece Lithuania Portugal
Bulgaria Spain Luxembourg Romania
Czechia France Hungary Slovenia
Denmark Croatia Malta Slovakia
Germany Italy Netherlands Finland
Estonia Cyprus Austria Sweden
Ireland Latvia Poland United Kingdom*


*Please note that the UK continues to participate in the European Solidarity Corps until the closure of the projects financed under the 2014-2020 Call years, even if activities take place after the end of 2020.

Non-EU participating countries: Iceland, Republic of North Macedonia and Turkey


Partner Countries

The following countries can take part in certain actions under the European Solidarity Corps, subject to specific criteria or conditions.

In 2020, organisations from these countries can participate as partners in Volunteering Projects only, but cannot apply for funding.

European Free Trade Association (EFTA) Countries: Liechtenstein and Norway

Partner Countries neighbouring the EU:

Western Balkans

Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Serbia

Eastern Partnership Countries

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Territory of Ukraine as recognised by international law

South-Mediterranean countries

Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia

Russian Federation

Territory of Russia as recognised by international law